TEMPORARY RESIDENCE PERMIT FOR CITIZENS FROM THE EAEU COUNTRIES IN THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN

Citizens of the Member States of the Eurasian Economic Union(EAEU) can enter the Republic of Kazakhstan without visas, as well as stay and leave the Republic of Kazakhstan without visas during the permitted period of stay (up to 90 calendar days from the date of crossing the State Border of the Republic of Kazakhstan). In addition to the Republic of Kazakhstan, the EAEU includes: the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation.

For the legal stay of citizens of the above countries in the Republic of Kazakhstan, it is necessary:

- When entering the territory of Kazakhana within 3 working days, submit a corresponding notification online through the website https://eqonaq.kz/portal. This is the required to be submitted by the inviting party);
- If a person requires to stay in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan for a period in excess of 91 calendar days up to one year, such a person will need to obtain a Temporary Residence Permit (hereinafter referred to as the "TRP").

For obtaining TRP it is necessary to submit documents within 90 calendar days from the date of crossing the State Border of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Such documents are submitted by the inviting party.

TRP is a document issued by the internal affairs bodies to immigrants in compliance with the requirements established by the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan. A TRP grants them the right to reside for a certain period in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan, depending on the purpose of the stay (clause 19 of Article 1 of the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan "On Migration"). Upon expiration of the TRP, it is necessary to either leave the Republic of Kazakhstan or extend the TRP.

The purposes of obtaining a TRP could be as follows:

- Commecement of labor activity;
- Education;
- Receiving Medical Treatment;
- Commencement of Entrepreneurial Activity;
- Commencement of Missionary Activity;
- Family Reunification.

Citizens of the EAEU Member States, as well as members of their families, are issued a TRP for a period of up to one year, depending on the purpose of the permit obtained.

To apply for a TRP, one is required to submit the following documents:

- Individual identification number (IIN) for a citizen of the EAEU member state. IIN is issued at the Public Service Center (PSC) within a period of 1 to 3 working days;
- If the documents for obtaining a TRP are drawn up in a foreign language (languages other than Kazakh or Russian), then it is necessary to provide a notarized translation of the passport in Kazakh or Russian.

Documents for obtaining a TRP can be submitted in 2 ways:

- 1) In paper form in the PSC at the place of residence of a citizen of the EAEU Member State in the Republic of Kazakhstan;
- 2) Online through the https://egov.kz/ portal

In both cases, the decision in relation to issuance of a TRP/refusal to issue a TRP can be obtained within 1 working day.

When contacting the PSC, you will need:

When submitting documents online, you will need (through the egov.kz portal):

- 1. application of the established sample from the inviting party;
- 2.copy of the passport (you will also need the original document for verification);
- 3. request from the inviting party;
- 4. the presence of the inviting party or a power of attorney from the inviting party.
- 1. application of the established sample from the inviting party;
- 2. copy of the passport of a citizen of the EAEU Member State;
- 3. request from the inviting party;
- 4. electronic digital signature (EDS) of the inviting party and the EDS of the owner of the housing in which the citizen of the EAEU member state lives.

When accompanying a citizen of the EAEU member state by family members, the following will be additionally required:

1.a copy of the marriage certificate;2.a copy of the birth certificate.

